this Milkha can bhaag!

bhaag-milkha-bhaag-wallpaper1

At the outset, let me state that this is no movie review. I do not hold enough of expertise to comment on the technicalities of a movie and movie-making in general. This is more of my experience and feelings of having watched a movie in a movie hall, an event that I thought would be extinct in my life, given my current status of motherhood. It was certainly a moment of celebration that this event occurred (all thanks to the presence of my in-laws and the nanny), and a double whoopee! for the movie that made every second worthwhile. Bhaag Milkha Bhaag! (BMB)

When my husband went click and pay online, and declared with a mixture of exultation and nervousness that we had got confirmation on two tickets, I controlled my excitement. Immediately, we prayed, “God! We hope that we can watch the entire movie!” Like a couple of excited teenagers, we arrived early for the movie, packed in a box of popcorn and Pepsi, and wiggled our bottoms into our seats. After a two-year hiatus from movie theatres, I had forgotten the sense of space that a multiplex provides, or the enormity and scale of the images and sound effects that surround ones senses. I had also forgotten the errant movie-goer(s), who would repeatedly talk loudly to the person next to him or equally vocally into his mobile phone. This, after letting the phone ring loudly in some ‘dinchak’ ringtone for a couple of minutes! I definitely did not remember a sexually awkward audience, at least, not in Mumbai. All men, who would giggle each time there were intimate moments on screen. One crude viewer, to hide his discomfort in one such scene, actually said, “Daal, Milkha daal!” followed by a high-pitched giggle. Eeww!

But nothing could diminish the experience of watching the movie. Starting with a beautifully crafted video of our National Anthem, by Shoojit Sircar, prior to the actual film, I was hooked! For the next 193 minutes, while I watched Farhan Akhtar unleash Milkha on screen with a range of emotions (especially his special bond with his sister, his love for a simple girl and the resultant heartbreak, among others), express his passion and commitment; and run, run and run until he shot like a bullet across the 70mm projected screen, I shed tears, laughed and I stayed super-glued to myseat. Until that moment, I had taken most of the reports on Akhtar’s extensive training, as PR gimmicks! I have always liked Farhan Akhtar, as a director and actor. But with BMB, I salute his versatility. As I’m sure would most people who have watched this film. As my husband put it towards the end, “I forgot that this is Farhan Akhtar, not Milkha Singh!” Amen to that!

Bhaag-Milkha-Bhaag-wallpaper-02

As the movie progressed, there is another hero who ran parallel in my mind. Rakyesh Omprakash Mehra! This is his movie – his vision, his love of detail and pure art that pours through the screen. While Rang De Basanti had moved me to understand my power as the youth of India, and ignited a feeling of wanting to make a difference; here in BMB, I felt whole host of emotions – love, anger, forgiveness, resilience, fortitude, sacrifice, and patriotism. No clichés! All this through a symphony of art, in each frame.bhaag-milkha-bhaag - wallpaper4bhaag-milkha-bhaag_wallpaper3

As I watched the movie traverse through different time periods, in sepia, coloured and black & white tones; as the slow train meandered through flat lands and tall trees; as Sonam Kapoor breathed life to a simple girl next door, pretty in pink; as the vastness of the vivid aqua tones of Australian waters freshened me; as the hero ran (and bled) with a tyre strapped to his waist against the backdrop of snow capped mountains; as Milkha took off with a gun shot and a simultaneous burst of sand underneath his feet; as he flew off, leaving his competition behind, until the iconic shot of the Flying Sikh bursting through the finish line, head first, arms flayed, with supreme triumph evident on his face; I wondered…why I wasn’t in the business of making movies! Of creating art that touched hearts and lives.

Then the lights came on! And my husband and I rushed back to warm the hearts and lives of our little babies; who had waited cheerfully and patiently for our return home!

Photo credit: courtesy Google, official wallpaper of the movie

2 thoughts on “this Milkha can bhaag!

  1. damn sweet… yeah thats what a good book, a good movie or any good experience does to you know? you want to be doing that… you want to make THAT your passion and chase that… we loved the movie too… and yes, cried, laughed, smiled and listened through the whole thing…

  2. Spot on. Aamir Khan, Abhay Deol and Farhan Akhtar are the few Indian actors who can transform themselves on the screen. The soundtrack is great too but depicting Milkha singing and dancing was (as usual) Hindi movie over the top stuff. Good watch. I’m happy that it is faring well at the box office.

Leave a comment